Jump to content

 

Photo

caching growfx system


  • Please log in to reply
15 replies to this topic

#1 cookiemonster

cookiemonster

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts

Posted 15 October 2011 - 06:18 AM

Hey all,
I am trying to skinwrap a mesh to my animated growfx tree. Unfortunately this doesnt work (because it is not really a mesh, but a procedural system?).
So I am trying to pointcache the tree, but it won't do it, because there is a change in the pointcount.
All that's animated on the growfx system is a wind animation, no vertices are beeing generated.
I turned optimize off in all my growfx meshes.
Any idea what could cause the pointcount change?
Thanks!

#2 Eduard

Eduard

    Developer

  • Moderators
  • 711 posts

Posted 15 October 2011 - 10:38 AM

Hi!
Please send me your model, I'll check it... You can send me to support@exlevel.com.

Eduard Danilov

www.exlevel.com


#3 fx83tmh

fx83tmh

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 9 posts

Posted 04 November 2011 - 05:04 PM

What is the proper way of caching out the animation? I currently have the "convert to mesh" option checked, then I add a conversion modifier "turn to mesh" following a "point cache" modifier. I have optimized mesh turned off. It seems the point cache data gets corrupt when the leaves count gets too high and then the "manual updated" gets automatically checked on during the process.

#4 Eduard

Eduard

    Developer

  • Moderators
  • 711 posts

Posted 04 November 2011 - 08:05 PM

I don't know why it happens, I need to look at your model.
Please send me your model...

Eduard Danilov

www.exlevel.com


#5 fx83tmh

fx83tmh

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 9 posts

Posted 05 November 2011 - 12:27 AM

I'm currently breaking down the caching into chunks. It seems to have trouble with caching out leaves with a vert count of over 1million. That's with the trunk and branch mesh turned off as well.

#6 Eduard

Eduard

    Developer

  • Moderators
  • 711 posts

Posted 05 November 2011 - 06:09 AM

I'm currently breaking down the caching into chunks. It seems to have trouble with caching out leaves with a vert count of over 1million. That's with the trunk and branch mesh turned off as well.

I cannot help you if you don't send me your model :)
I earlier created trees with over 2 million vertices, and a caching worked fine!

Eduard Danilov

www.exlevel.com


#7 fx83tmh

fx83tmh

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 9 posts

Posted 07 November 2011 - 06:08 PM

Here's a scene similar to what I'm working with. Thanks for looking into this.

Attached Files



#8 Eduard

Eduard

    Developer

  • Moderators
  • 711 posts

Posted 08 November 2011 - 07:33 PM

Here's a scene similar to what I'm working with. Thanks for looking into this.


Ok, thanks!

I not found any problems with the Point cache...
I'm a bit to optimized your tree, ie no need turned off the mesh optimization. But I was not able to optimize your leaves, because your leaves objects (for Instance geometry) were converted to Editable mesh.
But I reduced the number of leaves by: twigs_01 > Distributors path > PathPosDistr_02 > Levels I set equal to 1.
As a result we have tree with about 2 million vertices and about 3 million faces.
Attached File  dense_tree_2.max   856K   34 downloads

The proper way of caching animation I think as follows:
1) generate a cache file (click New... and Record buttons);
2) convert the tree to Editable mesh. Prior to this, you can save a copy to avoid losing the original model;
3) apply a new Point Cache modifier and load your file cache.

Cheers

Eduard Danilov

www.exlevel.com


#9 fx83tmh

fx83tmh

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 9 posts

Posted 08 November 2011 - 09:46 PM

Thanks Eduard. I will take a look at your changes. So there is some limitations to what can be cached? Does my original tree cache well at all for you without optimization?

#10 Eduard

Eduard

    Developer

  • Moderators
  • 711 posts

Posted 09 November 2011 - 02:36 PM

So there is some limitations to what can be cached?

I don't know :) But I think it's limited only by your RAM.

Does my original tree cache well at all for you without optimization?

Your original tree has 5 million vertices and 7.5 million faces. I have only 4GB RAM, so I could not wait for the caching process even 1 frame animation...

Eduard Danilov

www.exlevel.com


#11 fx83tmh

fx83tmh

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 9 posts

Posted 09 November 2011 - 05:50 PM

My workstation has 12 cores with 24gb of memory running win7. Looking at the cpu/memory usage when caching it never even comes close to maxing out my computer. Thanks again.

#12 Eduard

Eduard

    Developer

  • Moderators
  • 711 posts

Posted 09 November 2011 - 07:30 PM

My workstation has 12 cores with 24gb of memory running win7. Looking at the cpu/memory usage when caching it never even comes close to maxing out my computer. Thanks again.

Yes, your workstation is cool :)
I think there should be no problems...

Eduard Danilov

www.exlevel.com


#13 fx83tmh

fx83tmh

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 9 posts

Posted 10 November 2011 - 05:05 PM

Yes, your workstation is cool :)
I think there should be no problems...


I've tried your scene Eduard and I've noticed you've only set your cache limit to 10 frames. I was able to cache that easily but when I cranked it up to 200 frames the cache file will get corrupt towards the end of the frame range. Sometimes it'll only cache half of the data.
So far my safe zone is plant/tree meshes with a triangle count of less than 800k. Anymore than that it seems to be unstable. I'm curious to know if anyone else is having any problems.

#14 Eduard

Eduard

    Developer

  • Moderators
  • 711 posts

Posted 11 November 2011 - 06:51 PM

I've tried your scene Eduard and I've noticed you've only set your cache limit to 10 frames. I was able to cache that easily but when I cranked it up to 200 frames the cache file will get corrupt towards the end of the frame range. Sometimes it'll only cache half of the data.
So far my safe zone is plant/tree meshes with a triangle count of less than 800k. Anymore than that it seems to be unstable. I'm curious to know if anyone else is having any problems.

Yes, you're right. Calculation of the cache file was successful, but when we moved the time slider to the end of the frame range, the tree looked like ruins )). Maybe a problem here in the Point Cache?
There is another solution... What renderer are you using? If VRay or MentalRay, you can convert the tree into an animated proxy object. Many of our customers use it.

Another way to try to divide the animation into 2 parts, ie create 2 cache files, one from 0 to 100-th frame, the second from 101 to 200-th frame...

Cheers

Eduard Danilov

www.exlevel.com


#15 fx83tmh

fx83tmh

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 9 posts

Posted 11 November 2011 - 09:39 PM

Yes, you're right. Calculation of the cache file was successful, but when we moved the time slider to the end of the frame range, the tree looked like ruins )). Maybe a problem here in the Point Cache?
There is another solution... What renderer are you using? If VRay or MentalRay, you can convert the tree into an animated proxy object. Many of our customers use it.

Another way to try to divide the animation into 2 parts, ie create 2 cache files, one from 0 to 100-th frame, the second from 101 to 200-th frame...

Cheers


The data is being imported into another 3d program and using another renderer. I will look into animated proxy object.

#16 Eduard

Eduard

    Developer

  • Moderators
  • 711 posts

Posted 12 November 2011 - 06:58 AM

The data is being imported into another 3d program and using another renderer. I will look into animated proxy object.

I checked, it's a problem in the Point Cache... I tried the following: convert a tree into an editable mesh, then applied the Point Cache, recorded animation, then received the same cache file (about 5GB). After that, at the end of the frame range, I also got a broken tree.
Accordingly, to use the Point Cache you can just split the animation into parts.

Eduard Danilov

www.exlevel.com





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

Copyright © 2014 Exlevel